West campus circle

Sabbatical and Faculty Recognition Committee

Welcome to the Sabbatical & Faculty Recognition Committee web page. The web page is intended to help you navigate the processes of applying for a sabbatical leave, reporting on your sabbatical leave, and nominating faculty and staff for annual awards.

Please consult the menu above for more detailed information. Important Forms and Checklists can be found on our Additional Resources page. Please contact one of the Committee Members below if you have any questions.

Functions of Committee

Assists faculty in preparing sabbatical leave proposals and reports. Establishes evaluation criteria using the Board of Trustees policies. Evaluates proposals and reports. Makes sabbatical recommendations to the Academic Senate. Serves as a forum for nomination of candidates for State Academic Senate awards. Advises the Academic Senate on potential awards nominations. Reviews and updates the web pages. 

Meets 2nd/4th Tuesdays at 3:30 PM via Zoom. Please contact Darin Garard (garard@sbcc.edu) for the Zoom link.


Sarah Boggs English
Stephen Da Vega Fine Arts
Darin Garard (Chair) Social Sciences
Peter Georgakis Mathematics
Ignacio Ponce  Modern Languages
Jill Stein Social Sciences 
Kimberly Taylor Educational Support Faculty

Learn More


Faculty Recognition Awards

View awards and accolades faculty have earned through their distinguished service

Boat in water

Sabbatical Policies and Procedures

Learn more about SBCC's Sabbatical Leave policy and process


Forms and Checklists

Committee forms and checklists available for view and download